Course Syllabus

Course Overview

The Enneagram of Personality describes nine personality or ego types that arise as a result of loss of contact with our true nature in early childhood. Fundamental to each type is a fixed orientation toward oneself and life that results from this loss. Out of these “fixations”, whole patterns of mental, emotional, and behavioral tendencies develop.

Through understanding the Enneagram, we can develop a much clearer sense of what in ourselves is ultimately real and what is mechanical pattern. This allows detachment from the inner structures that separate us from our spiritual depths, and helps us develop more understanding and acceptance of ourselves and of others. While much information is currently available about the psychology of the nine types, the spiritual dimension out of which they arise is seldom recognized or taught.

In this course, we will explore how the particular ‘take’ on reality at the core of each of the nine types begins, and the belief-structures, emotional patterns, and behaviors that result. In this way, we will understand the basic outlines of each of the nine types and the rationales underlying them.

While the Enneagram is a very powerful and accurate map of the personality or ego structure, it does not tell us how to work through the terrain it describes. This working through only happens through inner work that encompasses both psychological understanding as well as a spiritual orientation.

The material is taught through lectures and experiential exercises to directly connect with the teaching in the immediacy of one’s own personal experience.

Course Modules

Module 1 – Introduction

Introduction to the course and the spiritual dimension of the Enneagram

Module 2 – Ennea-type Nine

Exploring Ennea-type Nine (Ego Indolence)

Module 3 – Ennea-type Six

Exploring Ennea-type Six (Ego Cowardice)

Module 4 – Ennea-type Three

Exploring Ennea-type Three (Ego Vanity)

Module 5 – Ennea-type One

Exploring Ennea-type One (Ego Resentment)

Module 6 – Ennea-type Four

Exploring Ennea-type Four (Ego Melancholy)

Module 7 – Ennea-type Two

Exploring Ennea-type Two (Ego Flattery)

Module 8 – Ennea-type Eight

Exploring Ennea-type Eight (Ego Revenge)

Module 9 – Ennea-type Five

Exploring Ennea-type Three (Ego Stinginess)

Module 10 – Ennea-type Seven

Exploring Ennea-type Seven (Ego Planning)

Module 11 – Conclusion

Concluding remarks about how to use this material in your life


If you have any questions, requests, or comments about this course, please send an email our support team.


Sandra Maitri has been a teacher of the Diamond Approach for 27 years. She leads groups in the San Francisco Bay Area and in the United Kingdom, and has a private practice in Marin County, California.

In the early seventies, she was a student of Claudio Naranjo, MD, in his original Seekers After Truth group along with Hameed and Marie Ali. She has also studied with various Eastern and Western spiritual and psychological teachers, focusing especially on Insight and Tibetan Buddhist meditation.

She is the author of The Spiritual Dimension of the Enneagram: Nine Faces of the Soul and The Enneagram of Passions and Virtues: Finding the Way Home.

Scroll to Top